Delaine and Lindy

Linden Tn. (The View)

Senior Member

Joined: 02/20/2005

View Profile

Offline
|
Since Alfa is no longer in business its possible this is for real. People are hurting and money and jobs are hard to find. However I would have to see first hand before any money changed hands. MH and 5th wheels are now in a slump and sale's are down. Its a buyers market for sure if you have the cash or a place you can find financing. What ever you do, don't send any money!!!!! I have a Cashiers check that someone sent us to buy our Truck, I wanted $63,500 for the Truck and he sent a Cashiers check for $68,000 and gave me info on were to send the difference. Well the Cashiers check was worthless..... We did sell the Truck for $63,500 (Cash) but not to that person. GBY....
2008 Chevy Silverado LTZ 3500, DRW
2008 Chevy Equinox LTZ
2009 Mobile Suites 36TK 3
B&W Hitch
www.webspawner.com/users/lnhdch
We are Blessed !!!!!!
|
richardnm

Los Alamos, NM,USA

Senior Member

Joined: 08/29/2003

View Profile

|
bumpy, he may be hoping your $500k check is legit. Perhaps that is what he owes on the coach and wants to sell 'cause of economic problems.
|
Bumpyroad

Virginia

Senior Member

Joined: 12/01/2005

View Profile

Offline
|
richardnm wrote: bumpy, he may be hoping your $500k check is legit. Perhaps that is what he owes on the coach and wants to sell 'cause of economic problems.
Well I certainly would be glad to help him out of his problem. 
bumpy
|
Diggin

Wherever I may wander

Senior Member

Joined: 10/26/2005

View Profile

Offline
|
I suppose this is how the scams keep going. With a low NADA of ~$84k, I guess greed kicks into overdrive. These guys know how to appeal to the masses.
Somebody give him a call and post up where he will be deployed to next week, about the other buyers that have bailed on him and he needs a deposit, or how you need to wire some money to your own name. One of those will show up.
|
1492

Virginia, USA

Senior Member

Joined: 04/08/2005

View Profile

|
It amazes me how many actually believe this type of scam. This is the same scam reported earlier on this forum. A simple search will bring up details:
Smells like a scam--what do you think?
Update on scam--2004 Alfa See Ya
You can find numerous examples of this same type of scam on various "RVs for Sale" sites. Take a look at this thread Motorhomes "For Sale" Scams?.
|
|
|
SunflyerA

Andover, Minnesota USA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/08/2004

View Profile

Offline
|
nohandles wrote: We have been surfing for a new used diesel and I have seen quit a few low prices on newer units. I think the fuel prices are causing those who can afford to take a big loss to just dump their units.
If they can afford the big loss, then why can't they afford the gas?.....seems to me some people are waking up to the reduced demand and still wanting to move their coach....so lower prices.
sunflyer
2005 Fleetwood Excursion 39S
350 Cat
|
chastho

arkansas

Senior Member

Joined: 07/27/2005

View Profile

|
Are you people really that gullible to believe that could be for real? It's no wonder these scammers stay in business.
|
Fredzo

SoCal

Senior Member

Joined: 08/28/2006

View Profile

Offline
|
Do others of you find these scammers and thier workings as interesting as I do?
I found the same Alfa for sale on Craigslist by an unfortunate divorcee who got to keep it in the divorce, but needed the money for surgery (sob). When e-mailed her that I'd be there the next day, cash in hand, she replied that it was already "packed for shipping", but assured me that it was as pictured. If I would send her a deposit, she'd send me the unit through "E-Bay's Preferred Carrier" for my inspection. I would then send the balance of funds to get the title.
I really wanted to see how it was "packed"!
Y2K Georgetown M346S,
2005 Liberty Renegade Toad
Blue Ox Tow Bar, Brake Buddy
Retiring on March 31, 2009!
|